Top 10 Goals & Resolutions of 2012 – End of the Year Review

Way back on January 1 of this year I declared my goals and resolutions for 2012. Now that the year is coming to a close, it is time to check up on my goals and evaluate my success.

Resolutions

Resolution: Become More Flexible

Progress: Little to none.

During my middle of the year resolution review I stated that I had been tested to have the flexibility of a 70 year old man. Nothing has changed on the flexibility front. Year after year I decide that I am going to become more flexible, and year after year I fail. This got me to thinking…I need help…professional help. Clearly I can not do this alone, so I have decided to go to a new gym called Stretch U where professionals stretch you out…just like the professional athletes. I hope that this level of accountability will help me achieve this long-time goal.

Goals

Goal #1: Pay off student loans.

Progress: Completed

Kristin and I paid off our student loans (well, my student loans) in February of this year. According to Dave Ramsey, we now completed baby step number 2, and we have also completed baby step number 3 (see below). This was a huge relief for us, since the only debt we now have is our mortgage. This frees up money for us to save, share, and give.

Goal #2: Save $10,000 for an emergency fund.

Progress: Completed

We have been blessed in 2012, and completed this step successfully. Having money in our emergency fund will allow us to put more money into retirement, save for baby Jane’s college fund (or her extravagant wedding), and will allow us to have financial flexibility heading into 2013 and beyond.

janefirstbirthday-389

Goal #3: Facilitate 25 paid Paradigm Shift events.

Progress: 26 Workshops – Completed

This year I facilitated 26 paid Paradigm Shift workshops. I love doing these trainings, and and it has been a true blessing to achieve this goal. I have facilitated in four states and Brazil. This is one of my goals I am the most excited about, because I thought it would be one of the hardest to accomplish.

PS Workshops in 2012:

M1A Refuge Student Leadership
OK 20 Leadership Camp
Oklahoma Division of Student Assistance TRiO Training
Alamo College Upward Bound
Arkansas Association of Student Assistance Programs TRiO Training
AASAP Spring Leadership Conference
Arkansas Tutors Association Spring Conference
Rogers State University – Claremore Leadership Group
Church of God of Prophecy
Redlands Upward Bound Spring Banquet
Tulsa Community College Upward Bound
Potter’s House
Oklahoma State University Upward Bound
Brazil 20 Leadership Camp
Carl Albert State College Upward Bound
Southeastern Upward Bound
Alamo College Upward Bound
Rogers State University Women’s Basketball Team
M1A Refuge Student Leadership Conference
Oklahoma State University Student Support Services
Southwest Association of Student Assistance Programs Student Leadership Conference
AASAP TRiO
Morris First Assembly

Goal #4: International Leadership Camp

Progress: Completed

Brazil Baby! What a wonderful trip. I am still in contact with the amazing people we were able to meet in Campinas, Sao Paulo and Rio. This is the second continent we have facilitated on, and we hope to add one more to the list before the huge Antarctica trip in 2014.

Goal #5: Project Adventure Training

Progress: Completed

This one was completed in a hurry. Murr, my personal assistant, was able to find a training in Boston in January that fit our needs. We loaded up on a plane, flew to the Northeast and had a wonderful time. Our experiences at PA strengthened my resolve, stretched my abilities, and increased my repertoire. I fully intend to have this goal on my list in 2013 since this training was so beneficial. Also, because of Murr’s excellent personal assistance during this trip, I have noted it on his annual performance review.

Goal #6: Read 52 books

Progress: 39 Books – 75%

So far I have read 39 books in 51 weeks. I am just a few books short of my goal, but I have enjoyed all of the reading, and hope to carry this momentum into 2013. Who knows, I have a few more days left in 2012 and will be traveling…I just may add a few to this list.

1. Back Pocket Adventures – Karl Rohnke & Jim Grout
2. The Resolution for Men – Stephen and Alex Kendrick
3. Cowstails & Cobras II – Karl Rohnke
4. Games That Teach: Experiential Activities for Reinforcing Training- Steve Sugar
5. The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins
6. Shorn – T. Suzanne Eller
7. Catching Fire – Suzanne Collins
8. Mockingjay – Suzanne Collins
9. The Legend of Sleepy Hollow – Washington Irving
10. Dracula – Bram Stoker
11. Robinson Crusoe – Daniel Defoe
12. Swiss Family Robinson – Johann David Wyss
13. The Jungle – Upton SInclair
14. Always Know What to Say – Peter Murphy
15. The Bounce Back Book – Karen Salmansohn
16. Talent – Tom Peters
17. Dear Coca-Cola – Terry Ravenscroft
18. Journey to the Centre of the Earth – Jules Verne
19. Project Dad – Todd Cartmell
20. Games for Everybody – May C. Hoffman
21. Aesop’s Fables – Aesop
22. Chop Suey – Ty Hutchinson
23. Stroganov – Ty Hutchinson
24. Loco Moco – Ty Hutchinson
25. War of the Worlds – H.G. Wells
26. The Moneychangers – Upton Sinclair
27. Through Painted Deserts – Donald Miller
28. Living Rich by Spending Smart – Gregory Karp
29. 25 Days to Better Thinking and Better Living – Linda Elder & Richard Paul
30. Getting Stuff (That Matters) Done – Tom Peters
31. The 100th Monkey – Nate Folan
32. The On Purpose Person – Kevin W. McCarthy
33. Getting Things Done: The Art of Stress Free Productivity – David Allen
34. The Gospel According to LOST – Chris Seay
35. Edgar Allan Poe’s Complete Poetical Works – Edgar Allan Poe
36. The Big Book of Leadership Games – Vasudha K. Deming
37. Adventure in the Classroom – Mary Henton
38. The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin – Benjamin Franklin
39. The Pursuit of Wow – Tom Peters

200px-Getting_Things_Done

My favorite books this year were:

  • The Resolution for Men
  • Getting Things Done
  • The 100th Monkey
  • Shorn

Goal #7: Check 12 things off of the Bucketlist.

Progress: 12 (almost) items checked off the list – 100%

I love my Bucketlist. So far I only have checked 7 things off my list this year.

  1. Spend the Night in a Haunted House
  2. Eat at a Brazilian Steakhouse in Brazil
  3. Visit an Orphanage in a Foreign Country
  4. Stand Beside the Christ the Redeemer statue
  5. Visit Mt. Rushmore
  6. Sleep on a Trampoline
  7. Be on a Game Show

I will be in Europe…London and Paris specifically…on the last few days of 2012. I am planning to do these Bucketlist items before the end of the year:

8. Try to Make a Guard Laugh at Buckingham Palace
9. Kiss on top of the Eiffel Tower
10. Visit Stone Henge
11. Ride a Double Decker Bus in London
12. Set atop the London Eye

In good faith I am going to go ahead and say I completed 12 items off of the Bucketlist. Who knows, I may do something completely unexpected while in Europe to add to the list and help me get over 12…if not, I am completely fine with 12, and will shoot for 12 again next year.

Mt Rushmore Ryan Eller

Ryan Eller Let's Ask America

I am striving to Live my List everyday…being conscious of my Bucket List helps me achieve this goal.

Goal #8: Set a World Record.

Progress: 0%

I will admit…I have done absolutely nothing to achieve this goal. I have done all of the necessary paperwork to set a world record, but I have yet to train or attempt to have my name entered into the Guinness Record Books. I absolutely need to reevaluate this goal for 2013 and see what progress needs to be made to achieve this wonderful task.

Goal #9: Get six-pack abs.

Progress: 0%

I currently weigh 205 pounds, and I will not achieve this goal unless I weigh no more than 185 pounds. I’m not even close to having a six pack, and do not see this changing anytime soon. My diet and exercise has become lax and even non-existent towards the end of the year. I have gotten soft and complacent…two things I do not like being! I doubt if getting a six-pack is going to be on my goal list in 2013, I would prefer that a six-pack would be the result of a different goal (e.g. – reach a certain weight, workout 3 days a week) rather than the goal itself.

Goal #10: Get back into church.

Progress: Slacking Off.

Kristin and I loved our church in Tulsa, but it moved locations to another city, and we haven’t found a fit yet. We were consistently attending small group with our friends Andrew and Crystal, and started traveling and it wasn’t as much of a priority as we needed. We still very much so desire for Jane to have the same experience in church during her childhood as we did, and it will be priority number one in 2013.

Overall: 6/10

Welp, those are my goals I set forth almost a year ago…some I hit, and some I missed. Overall I know that I achieved more and experienced more in 2012 because I set forth with positive SMART Goals. I encourage you to strongly consider your goals for 2013. Set some that are fun, some that are needed, and some that scare you a little. Let me know what your goals are, and expect a post on my 2013 goals soon.

Ryan Eller
ryan@ryaneller.com

3 comments on “Top 10 Goals & Resolutions of 2012 – End of the Year Review

  1. Pingback: Top 12 of 2012 | Ryan Eller

Leave a Reply

