13 Goals in 2013

I know it is almost a month into the new year, but I am trying to not fall into the trap of putting off something because I am slightly behind schedule.  So here are my 13 goals for 2013…in no specific order.

Goals

1. Paradigm Shift Workshop in 20 US States

I currently have a workshop scheduled in 22 states. It would be huge for Paradigm Shift’s momentum if I could pull off these trainings successfully.

2. Check 13 Items Off of My Bucket List

I have already checked two items off of my list (Kiss on top of the Eiffel Tower & Walk around the Colosseum in Rome), and I plan to add a few more states to my goal of 50 states. If you have read some of my previous posts, or hear me talk for a few minutes, you know I think everyone should have a Bucket List and actively try to check things off of the list. Some Bucket List items I hope to check off soon:

  • Write my Will
  • Skydive (Kristin’s wedding gift to me)
  • Finish my family tree
  • Six Pack Abs
  • Bungee Jump

3. No Texting for 1 Month

texting2

I admit it..I am addicted to texting. I am pretty sure that most young Americans are in the same boat as me, but I feel as if texting is often a major distractor/hindrance for my success. I know its benefits and necessity in our lives, but I do not believe it needs to be a crutch in my life. Therefore, I am going to give it up (not forever)…hopefully in the month of February.

4, Touch my Toes

Never in my life have I been flexible. Becoming flexible has been my New Year’s Resolution for the past 15 years. This year I am changing it up…instead of focusing on a stretching routine and trying to stick with it, I am going to set a SMART goal and try to achieve it. I am goal driven by nature, so I feel as if this will motivate me towards success. I am going to touch my toes this year!

5. Read 52 Books

Image

This goal was on my 2012 goals list and I did not achieve it. This requires a consistent dose of reading and challenges me to make reading a forefront of my life. I believe leaders are readers, so this forces me to turn off the TV, put up the phone, and get off of Twitter and read a few good books.

6. Become Vegan for One Month

According to a Memorandum of the Association of the Vegan Society, the group defined veganism as:

“A way of living which excludes all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, the animal kingdom, and includes a reverence for life. It applies to the practice of living on the products of the plant kingdom to the exclusion of flesh, fish, fowl, eggs, honey, animal milk and its derivatives, and encourages the use of alternatives for all commodities derived wholly or in part from animals.”

I like a good challenge in my life. In the past I would give up when things got hard, so now I try to do something every year that will challenge me to be consistent with my follow through and dedication. Being Vegan for one month will force me to grow, to learn about another culture, and raise my awareness about the things I put in my body.

7. Take an International Trip

I have already visited France and Italy this year, but I want to add at least one more country to my list. Whether it be a Leadership Conference or just a vacation (or both), I want to travel the world and see some more of this world!

8. Volunteer Once a Month

I would like to take my time (currently my most precious commodity) and give back to my community. I want to volunteer for 12 different causes throughout the year so I can see the good work these organizations are doing. I would like to find one cause that I can champion and that I enjoy doing.

9. Dunk a Basketball


Let’s face it…I am getting older! This year I will turn 30, and I am more and more conscious of the importance of my physical well-being. I could dunk a basketball in 9th grade (not well, but it counted), and I haven’t dunked a basketball in the last two years. I know that if I can dunk a basketball, I am in good physical shape and have made a deliberate effort towards working out.

10. Keynote to 1,000 People

I love speaking in front of groups, and I want to grow that part of my business. I am making an effort in 2013 to speak more and keynote at professional conferences and leadership camps. If I could keynote in front of 1,000 people it would mean that I have made significant strides toward my speaking endeavors.

11. One Paradigm Shift Workshop That Offers CEU Credits

I like to think ahead, and I hope to offer workshops in 2014 that allow professional counselors and social workers to receive CEU’s (Continuing Education Units). 2013 is the year of TRiO, and I am focusing most of my energy on offering great experiential based workshops for the TRiO community, but I want to offer at least one CEU workshop. I plan on working with my brother-in-law Josh to make this goal happen.

12. Write “Live Your List”

I am very passionate about people helping others Live Your List. I have traveled all over explaining the benefits of having a Bucket List and then creating a life that is meaningful and encompasses your list. I would love to write a Live Your List book that helps achieve this goal.

13. Create Original PS Props

I would like to create props and materials that facilitators of all skill levels can use to better serve and interact with their participants. It would be amazing if I could sell these online to spread experiential education across the world.

Thanks to all who read through this list…I’m sure it is mostly family and a few close friends…but I appreciate it! I write these goals because I believe it is extremely important to write down your goals. I write these on my blog so that all of you who are nice enough to read this entire post will hold me accountable to these goals. I will update my progress quarterly and keep you all posted on my success! In the mean time, here is some motivation for you (and me) to achieve your goals in 2013.

What are your goals for this year? I would love to help you achieve them!

Ryan Eller
ryan@ryaneller.com

5 comments on “13 Goals in 2013

  1. Pingback: Shout It From The Mountaintop | Ryan Eller

  2. Pingback: Why On Earth Would I Go Vegan? | Ryan Eller

  3. Pingback: Middle of the Year Goal Check – How am I Doing? | Ryan Eller

Leave a Reply

