TBT – #2 Ride in a Hot Air Balloon

It is Thursday, and you know what that means!!! It is Throwback Thursday time again. TBT is the one day a week I relive some of my greatest moments in life…the times when I checked something off of my Bucket List.  Last week you learned about #32 – Go White Water Rafting, and this week we cover one that is very special to me…

2. Ride in a Hot Air Balloon – X (July 8th, 2007, Edmond, OK)

Ryan Eller

Bucket Lists can change your life. That happened to me back in July of 2007 when I proposed to my wife 500 feet in the air in a hot air balloon. There are very few moments in your life that you will think back on as “life highlights,” but this certainly qualifies. It is one of the best moments in my life, and at this point, the favorite bucket I’ve checked.

I had the girl of my dreams, and I wanted a perfect way to propose to her, so I went to my Bucket List. I knew that a ride in a hot air balloon would be the perfect way to throw Kristin off of my trail and keep her guessing about when I was going to pop the question. We headed to Edmond, OK on a bright and sunny day to meet up with the hot air balloon pilot. He was in on my plan, and was great at keeping Kristin out of the loop. We spent part of the morning inflating the balloon and learning about how the balloon actually operates.

Ryan Eller

Ryan Eller

Ryan Eller

I was ridiculously nervous as we started to float above the lazy neighborhoods that early morning. I wasn’t nervous because of the elevation, but because I had Kristin’s ring in my pocket, and I planned on proposing to her once we got at the right spot. The pilot had mistakenly told me of two hopeful proposers who asked their girlfriend to marry them on a hot air balloon ride. One poor fella dropped the ring over the edge of the basket, and it was never found again. The other unlucky guy was rejected at 500 feet…with nowhere to go. I had these stories in the back of my head as we started climbing toward the clouds.

Ryan Eller Hot Air Ballon

Ryan Eller Hot Air Ballon

Ryan Eller Hot Air Ballon

Ryan Eller

The time came when the pilot gave me the go-ahead to propose. I don’t remember one word I told Kristin during my proposal speech. I was gripping her ring so tightly that I couldn’t focus on anything else. I may have mumbled incoherently for 5 minutes to Kristin during this time…I honestly have no idea. Regardless of what I said, she said yes! I quickly slipped the ring on her finger and hugged her tight! She said yes!

Ryan Eller

Ryan Eller

Tomorrow we will have been married for 5 years! She has been beside me every step of the way. We have an amazing baby and a great life together. She is my number one supporter and loves to help me check off buckets while I Live My List.

Have you ever rode in a hot air balloon? How did you propose? Do you have a better story?

4 comments on “TBT – #2 Ride in a Hot Air Balloon

  1. Pingback: 3 Life Lessons I Learned From Snow Skiing | Ryan Eller

  2. Pingback: Happy Birthday Sweetheart | Ryan Eller

Leave a Reply

