11 Reasons Why My Dad is the Greatest Dad in the World

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.Love never fails. – 1 Corinthians 13:4-8

Ryan Eller and Richard Eller

I’m not saying my dad is perfect, but he is pretty darn close. It’s as if the Apostle Paul knew my dad and used him as a model for the verses above. I am going to break these statements down and prove to you why my dad is the greatest man in the world.

1. Love is patient – My dad grew up around ornery men. My uncles Garry, Stan, and Brent are still ornery. My grandpa will still pester you if he gets the chance. Apparently when my dad was young, these pesterers would get under his skin, but I haven’t noticed it in my lifetime. He has always been patient with me when I got angry, he was calm when I made mistakes, and he tolerated me through my annoying stages (ages 8-28).

2. Love is kind – My dad is so nice, he is too nice. He has never met a stranger, and I can remember him walking up to strangers and saying, “I’m Richard Eller, I don’t believe we’ve met. I’d love to get to know you.” I have never heard anyone say something bad about my father.

3. It does not boast – My dad has done some awesome things in his life. He has traveled all over the world building churches and participating in medical missions. He has raised three awesome kids and has three great kid-in-laws. He went back to college at 50 and got two degrees. He is changing lives as a drug and alcohol counselor. He doesn’t brag about any of his accomplishments, unless you count his grandbabies…he will brag about his grandbabies.

4. It is not proud – My dad is never too proud to admit his wrongs or faults (he doesn’t have many). He is willing to serve at anytime for any person. He is the first in line to volunteer and the last to leave. There has never been any job he wasn’t willing to do.

5. It does not dishonor others – My dad is the most loyal man I have ever met. He believes in you instantly and loves supporting and encouraging others.

6. It is not self-seeking – Like I have mentioned before, my dad places others in front of his desires. He worked for 18 years at a paper plant so we could all live out our dreams. It wasn’t until after we were all out of college that dad pursued his dream. Enough said.

7. It is not easily angered – I have literally only seen my dad angry three times in my life. There have been several times when I wanted my dad to get angry at others, but he stayed calm and always took the high road. He certainly was no push-over, but he knew anger never helped the situation.

8. It keeps no record of wrongs – I have messed up a lot in my short time on earth. My dad has never held my mistakes over my head or threw them in my face. He forgets all of the times I have been rude to him, and has only shown me kindness.

9. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth – I am being 100% honest when I say I have never seen my dad make a mistake. He has always lived a life of integrity and is a man of his word.

10. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres – My dad has always worked hard to provide for our family, not only financially, but emotionally and spiritually as well. There is no greater source of confidence than the one that comes from your father. My dad believes in me and my sisters with unwavering support and encouragement.

11. Love never fails – In 29 years, my dad has not let me down. He is my biggest cheerleader and my greatest role model. Many man have no standard of excellence in their life, and I have a man I look up to more than he will ever know. I love you Big Dad.

Leave a Reply

