Middle of the Year Goal Check – How am I Doing?

Wait, it is July already? When did we get through April, much less June? It has been an amazing year so far, but it is time for me to check in on my goal list. Back in January I created a list of 13 goals for 2013. So, how am I doing? Let’s review the goals one-by-one to see if I am on track for the rest of the year.

1. Paradigm Shift Workshops in 20 States – 60%

Ryan-eller-kentucky

I have been dominating this one. I have facilitated workshops in the following states:

  1. Oklahoma
  2. Texas
  3. Arkansas
  4. Kansas
  5. Missouri
  6. Indiana
  7. Georgia
  8. Florida
  9. South Carolina
  10. North Carolina
  11. Alabama
  12. Kentucky

I feel pretty good about this one! I have workshops in MN, IL, CO, and WI already on the calendar. That puts me at 16, and I am also going to Zambia, Africa. Which I will totally count toward my list. If you are in another state and want to bring me in…let’s make it happen!

2. Check 13 Items Off My Bucket List – 38%

Ryan-eller-hoover-dam

I have had a decent year on my Bucket List too. So far I have checked 5 buckets off of my list, but they have been huge items:

  1. Kiss on top of the Eiffel Tower
  2. Walk around the Colosseum in Rome
  3. Ride the Roller Coasters on the Top of The Stratosphere in Las Vegas
  4. Fly an Airplane
  5. Tour Hoover Dam

This is why I check in on my goals. It gives me an idea of where I need to focus my energy. Fortunately for me, I love checking buckets off of my Bucket List.

3. No Texting for One Month – 0%

I have yet to attempt this item. Actually, that isn’t true. I attempted it for one day. It didn’t last very long. I am dreading this goal, but I know it will be good for me. So expect me to attempt it a few more times.

4. Touch My Toes – 0%

I am giving this a 0% not because I can’t touch my toes, but because I haven’t even attempted to stretch regularly. Expect me to get on that soon. Actually, I took a break from typing this goal to stretch.

5. Read 52 Books – 36%

Leaders are readers. Not all readers are leaders, but all leaders are readers. Makes sense, right? I want to be a better leader, so I am focusing on reading all year-long. So far I have read 17 books:

  1. Quitter – Jon Acuff
  2. The 11th Floor – Charles Culver
  3. Parachute Play – Liz & Dick Wilmes
  4. Global Games – Rich Keegan
  5. The Bottomless Bag Again – Karl Rohnke
  6. Start – Jon Acuff
  7. No Props – Mark Collard
  8. Raptor – Sam Sikes
  9. Adventure and the Way of Jesus – Greg Robinson
  10. Team Building Activities for The Digital Age – Brent Wolfe and Colbey Penton Sparkman
  11. Great Ideas for Small Youth Groups – Wayne Rice
  12. Games for Group – Chris Cavert
  13. Focus Your Locus – Mike Gessford and Justin McGlamery
  14. Play It Again – More Games for Groups – Mike Yaconelli
  15. Find Something to Do – Jim Cain
  16. From Lucky to Smart – Leadership Lessons from QuikTrip – Chester Cadieux
  17. The Power of Focus – Jack Canfield

I am 9 books behind on this goal. I will try to read 10 books in July! I finished something this morning, so it’s looking good.

6. Become Vegan for 1 Month – 100%

This one was really hard, but I made it. Things I learned being Vegan:

  • Vegan cheese is no substitute for cheese.
  • Sometimes you have to turn down great food to stick with your cause.
  • I can still eat unhealthy and Vegan.
  • Meat free & dairy free is not Vegan. It can’t be made in a factory that makes meat products or have trace animal products.
  • Doing something really hard so you can understand another culture helps you grow exponentially.

I am really glad I tried this challenge. I picked up a couple of Vegan recipes that have made it into my rotation, like Kung Pao Tofu.

7. Take an International Trip – 100%

Ryan Eller

I went to France and Italy at the beginning of the year, I am going to the Bahamas in 10 days, and I am going to Zambia and Zimbabwe in the fall. I still love travel!

8. Volunteer Once a Month – 50%

So far, so good! I helped clean up a house that burned down, I spent some time with the ORU Burn Survivor Conference, and I spoke at an event in North Carolina. These were the highlights of some of the volunteer opportunities so far this year!

9. Dunk a Basketball – 0%

Much like the stretching goal, I have done very little to achieve this goal. I also stopped writing this post to do some jumping exercises.

10. Keynote to 1,000 People – 30%

IMG_0367

I have presented and facilitated to well over 3,000 people this year, but not 1,000 at one time. The largest group I have presented to was about 300. I don’t know if I will make this happen this year, but I will keep working to make this happen.

11. One Paradigm Shift Workshop That Offers CEU Credits – 0%

I still have lots of year left to offer CEU credits, however I haven’t had the opportunity yet. I am working with a few LPCs and a MSW to create a workshop that offers CEU credits.

12. Write Live Your List – 33%

Ryan Eller

I have always wanted to write a book about the Live Your List philosophy. I have actually started writing the proposal to this book, and I honestly think I will finish it before the end of the year.

13. Create Original Paradigm Shift Props – ???

I am very excited about this goal. I have a chance to create a team building prop that will help set a World Record. This will be amazing. More details coming soon.

Alright, so right now I have completed two of my 13 goals and I am making progress on seven more. I need to get my tail in gear for four of my goals. It is important to check in on your goals to see your progress. It will help you achieve your goals for the year.

What are your goals for 2013? If you haven’t set any goals, it isn’t too late. If you did set goals, how are you doing?

One comment on “Middle of the Year Goal Check – How am I Doing?

  1. Pingback: Where ya goals at??? | Believing in a Better Way

Leave a Reply

