The Two Easiest Ways to Work and Make Money From Home

I am now a small business owner. A lifestyle entrepreneur, if you will. I travel around the world and facilitate leadership and team-building activities. On days when I am not traveling, I work at the house and spend time with my family. I make more money in two days than I did in an entire month at the University. I genuinely love what I do, and I wake up happy every day.

I tell you all this because I want you to be able to do the same thing. I know you have a passion or dream inside of you waiting to burst from the seams. I know you would like to travel and have the flexibility that people like me have, and you can do it too. I am going to give you the two secrets that helped me get to where I am today.

1. Don’t quit your job – Whaaa??? How am I supposed to do all of those awesome things while working 9-5? I’ll tell you how…you wake up early and hustle. You spend your free hours not watching TV but writing your book. You save money and store it away to have an emergency fund for when you start you business.

I worked part-time with my dream job for over four years before I quit my full-time job. I had built up a clientele, used up all of my extra vacation time, and spent my own money on building the business before I actually dove in head first.

It is hard to run your own business, and it is hard to have two jobs. It is very hard, however, when you quit your job and have no money to pay the bills or feed the kids. If you feel like quitting your job, do yourself a favor and read Quitter by Jon Acuff first to make sure you are ready.

2. Hustle – We have been told our whole lives that we can do whatever we want in this world. If you want to be a doctor, be a doctor. If you want to be an astronaut, be an astronaut. I support this 100%, and I would encourage you to follow your dreams and Live Your List. However, I feel as if we haven’t been told the most important part of chasing our dreams: You must work very, very hard.

Do you want everyone to believe in your dreams? Wake up at 5 a.m. and work on them. Put in the effort to be successful. People see successful individuals and assume that it is easy to get to work from home. They don’t see the hours and hours of effort put in behind the scene. I have worked harder as the CEO of Paradigm Shift than I ever have at any other job (including being the Easter Bunny at the mall).

Those are the two secrets. Don’t quit your job and hustle. I stole these from Jon Acuff who probably stole them from other successful people, but the principles remain the same.

What have you been hustling on recently? What things can you do to be successful at your day job while waiting for your dream job?

Leave a Reply

