How To Empty Out Your Email Inbox Every Single Day

We have an email epidemic on our hands. Well, not necessarily on our hands, but in our hands. We can access our email 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. According to Social Clinic, we send 144 billion (that is billion with a “B”) emails each and every single day.

emails-sent-per-day

Picture via socialclinic.com

 

I personally feel as if I only get 1-2 million emails a day. If you are like me, you can get overwhelmed by checking your emails. There is even a diagnosed disorder called Email Addiction Impulsive Compulsive Disorder in which people can’t help themselves from checking their email several hundred times a day.

I used to be part of that crowd, and I feel as if I have found the light:

I know get to the bottom of my email inbox folder every single day, and more importantly only check it a few times per day. 

If you want to be a person who Lives Your List and lives a life of intention and purpose, than you need to be as productive as possible…including email. Here are the 5 things I have found successful on my journey to email freedom.

1. Get a Gmail account and link your other email accounts: Gmail is the Cadillac of email providers. It is quick, seamless, and integrates into almost all applications. It has nearly unlimited (15 gigs) of space, and you can add your other email accounts to Gmail. I understand some people have work accounts that will not allow them to use Gmail as their email provider. If that is the case, than just skip this step and apply all of the other ones.

2. Get rid of all spam: If you find yourself deleting certain emails more than you read them, they fall into the spam category. Bought something from WalMart.com and now they send you emails every few days? Create a filter and send it straight to the trash. Every single time I get an email from a random address I immediately create a filter. Spend an hour creating filters and deleting emails. Gmail is very good about deleting actual spam so that you almost never get any.

3. Check your email first thing in the morning: I know many people actually do this, but check your email at the beginning of the day. Open every single one. It will help you create your to-do list for the day and give you an idea of what needs to be accomplished. Before I do any other work, I will respond to all of the necessary emails, delete and filter unnecessary ones, and send emails to important clients.

4. Don’t put off reading emails: In the past, I would see an email from a client that I knew contained important information or one that needed an action step completed. I wouldn’t even open these emails because I knew they required special attention. These emails would start to pile up and then I would get overwhelmed with the amount of things I needed to accomplish. I now will open these emails, get a quick overview, and then add the next action step to my to-do list. This allows me to complete the action at the appropriate time.

5. Don’t use email for social media: I know people who get notifications from Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, etc. in their email accounts. You already get these notifications on your phone, the actual site, and now in your email. It seems redundant because it is redundant. Create filters for these emails or send them to an entirely different account (that’s what I do).

These tips have helped me out tremendously. I hope these will help you as well. What tips do you have to empty your emails every day?

Leave a Reply

